Aug 8 – 13, 2022
Hörsaalzentrum Poppelsdorf
Europe/Berlin timezone

Open Science in Lattice Gauge Theory community

Aug 11, 2022, 10:40 AM
CP1-HSZ/0.002 (CP1-HSZ) - HS4 (CP1-HSZ)

CP1-HSZ/0.002 (CP1-HSZ) - HS4


Show room on map
Oral Presentation Software development and Machines Software development and Machines


Andreas Athenodorou (The Cyprus Institute)


Open science aims to make scientific research processes, tools and results accessible to all scientific communities, creating trust in science and enabling digital competences to be realized in research, leading to increased innovation. It provides standard and transparent pathways to conducting research and fosters best practices for collecting, analysing, preserving, sharing and reusing data, software, workflows and other outputs through collaborative networks. Open Science appears to becoming the norm with its applications spanning throughout the whole research cycle of a project. The importance of making Open Science a reality is reflected in the policy and implementation actions of the European Commission incorporated in research and innovation funding programmes (FP7, Horizon 2020, Horizon Europe) and the development of the European Open Science Cloud (EOSC) as it improves the quality, efficiency and responsiveness of research. EOSC will enable researchers across disciplines and countries to store, curate and share data under a common policy framework with rules of participation and pre-defined set of technical specifications that are expected to help shape the “Internet of FAIR data and services” in Europe. In this talk we will present the basic Open Science principles explaining briefly best practices for materialising open science. Subsequently, we will present the results of the landscaping survey of Open Science in the Lattice Gauge Theories community ( Finally, we will provide directions in which the LGT community could move in order to enhance Openness and FAIRness (Finability, Accessibility, Interoperability, Reusability) in Science.

Primary authors

Andreas Athenodorou (The Cyprus Institute) Ed Bennett (Swansea University) Mrs Elli Papadopoulou (ATHENA Research Center) Julian Lenz (FSU Jena/Swansea University)

Presentation materials